Reagan Wheeler-Strengths Finder 2.0

by Reagan Wheeler

Strengths
Photo Credit http://www.123rf.com/stock/photo/strength.html

Strengths Finder was very useful in realizing what my specific strengths are when thinking about a work setting. It showed me some I never even thought about before. I didn’t realize that I had certain strengths and it really encouraged me. It gave me a confidence that will help me in the future.

Adaptability

The first strength that I had in my results is Adaptability. A person who is strong in Adaptability prefers to go with the flow of things. They live in the now and take things as they come one day at a time. The future is determined by the choices they make as they go and are not taken off course by unexpected situations. They expect the unexpected, allowing them to adapt well and be flexible. This person is not intimidated by circumstances that others might find intimidating and is able to help others see how to keep moving forward.

Roles that demand predictability and structure can frustrate a person who is strong in Adaptability. These roles can make them feel inadequate. A weakness in this strength is that I need to look to others for planning and for help with my long-term goals. This is so I can move forward with my day-to-day tasks that I would be constantly busy with.

I have shown this strength many times, whether it is group projects or just with a friend. I always try to help people see the finish line when unexpected things happen. I try to help them see that it’s going to be okay; that everything is still going to get done even though it doesn’t seem like it at the time.

Arranger

The next strength I received is I am an Arranger. An Arranger is able to organize and be flexible when it comes to productivity. A person with this strength likes to move things around or look at all the possible ways to effectively do something. They want to find the most productive way to do things. This person does the best when they are confronted with something unexpected and must jump into confusion to find a new way to get a job done. These people are happiest when they are working with a team where they can use everyone’s strengths to get a job done.

This could also be a weakness. I might stress out the other members of a group when throwing out a bunch of other ways to work. I might take a leader role where I shouldn’t or I could be mistaken as bossy and then have the other members not cooperate.

I wasn’t expecting this strength when I received my results. After reading the description of it, I started to see more of how this is one of my strengths. When working with groups on projects or papers, I do figure out what the other members have to offer and then suggest a part of the project they might be able to do best. When things might not go the way they’re expected I am somewhat quick at figuring out a new way to them. And I do it a way that’s calm and collected.

Connectedness

My third strength is Connectedness, which says that I am strong in the belief that everything happens for a reason. This strength says that I believe everyone is part of something bigger, which implies certain responsibilities. A person with this strength is accepting, considerate and caring and builds bridges for people from different cultures. They have a strong faith and value system and give comfort to people by helping them see there’s a bigger purpose for them. This gives support when it comes to the mysteries of life. People with Connectedness show those from different groups how to rely and relate to each other and help them find meaning in the confusion of the world, bringing them comfort and hope.

A weakness that can come from this is I might not have the right words to say at the time, which might bring more unsteadiness. I might bring so much positivity to others that I might forget to make sure I feel steady myself. I might become routine in my thinking.

I am very much this way. I would definitely say that Connectedness is strength of mine. I am constantly trying to encourage people in a way that makes them feel that they are needed. I believe that everyone is here for a bigger purpose and I don’t want anyone to feel that they are not here for a reason. I like showing others from different cultures or groups how they relate. Everyone can relate to each other in the fact that we are all here, for what I believe, to be the same purpose. Even in a much smaller sense, when working with a group, I like to make sure everyone is included and knows that they’re needed to get the job done. I like to give people hope and a foundation to stand on.

Positivity

The fourth strength I received is Positivity. This strength gives a person contagious enthusiasm. They are upbeat and excited about what is going to be done. A person with this strength is always looking for the positive side of the situation and is very quick to praise or smile. They can keep others hopeful and encourage them to be more productive. They are very optimistic, fun-loving and hopeful and celebrate all achievements, making them more vital.

A weakness that I see in this is I might be so energetic and enthusiastic in my attempt to help others see the silver lining that I may not give them the outlet they need. They might just need someone to listen and be there rather than telling them to be positive all the time. I think I need to be careful about that and make sure I am being sensitive too.

This strength is very true in me. I always try to encourage everyone when it seems that everything is going wrong. I tell my friends, family, coworkers and group members that it’s okay when things go wrong. I reassure them that it’s going to be okay and then I show them something from it that went right. It makes me so happy when the person I’m trying to encourage sees that one thing too because then I know that I have the hope of everything still working out. It brings out the perseverance in them. Once they see it and keep working toward the end goal, they teach themselves not to give up. It makes them feel even more proud when the finish whatever goal they were working towards. I have certain things that I say to people when they start to feel like everything is falling apart. Things like, “Hey, it’s not like you’re not going to get it done. You know you’re going to get it done so you can rest assured in that.” Or, “Hey, it’s okay. I know you’re going to keep trying until you get it right. I know you can do it. Just take it one step at a time.” And then I’ll smile to give them some hope. I’m very proud to have this as one of my strengths.

Belief

My fifth strength that I received is belief, which says that I have core values that are unchanging. And from these values I have a defined purpose for my life. People with this strength have a strong sense of purpose and their values affect their behavior and have a sense of mission that gives their lives direction and meaning. They see success as more than just money and status but as a way of living according to their values, which guide them through the distractions and temptations of life. This is the foundation of their relationships and they are seen as trustworthy and dependable people. Their values drive their determination.

There is a weakness in this strength. I think a person’s values really do determine how they live and some people’s values may not be so good. This can cause problems in many ways. It can affect the people around them and themselves.

This is a big strength of mine. I am very strong in my values, which do lead the way for how I live. If I didn’t have values then I don’t know what kind of person I would be today. The values I have do push me to do my best in everything I set out to do. I use it in my jobs, schoolwork and relationships with friends, family, coworkers and so on. I think this strength is what will and does help me most in life.

All of these strengths are already helping me in my unique leadership style. I know that are going to help my in my future workplaces and jobs. They all go hand in hand with each other and I can see that clearly. I can use these to help my coworkers to work together even if they all have very different backgrounds or ideas. I can help encourage my coworkers by showing them the silver linings that they might not see. I will make sure that they know they are needed and that stay encouraged when something falls apart. I’m really glad to see that these are my top five strengths and how I have been using them throughout my whole life. It’s pretty cool and I’m excited to see how I will use them in the future.

I think that an organization that would benefit from this type of leadership is any organization, honestly. Every organization needs a leader who views every person as useful and needed. That is what will keep people happy and confident. Every organization needs a leader who is going to encourage them when things don’t go right instead of a leader who kicks them while they’re down. An organization needs a leader who can find the most efficient way to complete a project and who can deal well with the unexpected.

Leave a Reply

